Best Books Read in 2021

Normalcy. That is what everyone wanted to return to in 2021. Same here with me, especially regarding my reading. While maybe not everything felt normal, my reading life felt more like a “return to form”.

The past couple years found me reading books I enjoyed but didn’t blow my mind. This year, at least four books cracked that “mind blown” category. After reading mostly entertaining books last year during the pandemic, this year was more balanced with some books leaning toward entertainment and others being weightier and giving me much to think about. 

So, of the 21 new books I read in 2021, which are the 10 best?

Best Reads of 2021

10. My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers

My Utmost for His Highest

Full confession, as of this writing, I haven’t finished this book. It’s a daily devotional that runs through every day of the year, but (unless some unforeseen tragedy strikes) I am on pace to finish it in time. Some years, this 10th slot is for books that feel like an accomplishment finishing. Having kept pace with this book through moving, working, tired nights, etc., I feel like it’s worth noting. Aside from the back-patting, though, I have enjoyed this little devotional. I find Chambers’ views on worship, prayer, evangelism, and more to be simple and helpful.

9. Thuvia, Maid of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Thuvia, Maid of Mars (Barsoom, #4)

The previous 2 books in this series rated higher last year, and while this one doesn’t have quite the same epic feel as its predecessors, it was still a fun romp. Parts of it reminded me of classic Star Trek, the rest of it was swashbuckling adventure. 

8. It Is What You Make of It: Creating Something Great from What You’ve Been Given by Justin McRoberts

It Is What You Make of It: Creating Something Great from What You’ve Been Given

I read this as a book review for JesusFreakHideout.com and was pleasantly surprised by it. It’s a little too fluffy to make a lasting impact, but its message resonated with me–especially in 2021 with certain homeowner experiences I encountered. When I started to feel flustered with different home projects, I tried to remember the attitude this book preaches and found it helpful.

7. The Good Shepherd by C.S. Forester

The Good Shepherd

I really enjoyed Forester’s Hornblower saga and when I heard about this book through the Tom Hanks’ movie Greyhound, I knew I wanted to read it. Not as exciting or tense as I had hoped, but the main character being an average yet competent naval captain resonated with me in some strange way. The book’s subtle musings on duty and where we could be too dutiful were interesting and kept it on the list.

6. Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Between the World and Me

This one had been on my to-be-read list for a while and I finally got to it. I don’t know how long it will endure in my mind, but every time I think about it I get wrapped up in the dialogue Coates presents in his work. I can’t say I enjoyed the book, but I did find it helpful especially with all the conversations around race relations happening today.

5. Night by Elie Wiesel

Night  (The Night Trilogy, #1)

We had some Holocaust-related books on our bookshelves so I decided to read some this year. This was one and it was a dour read, as it should be. While Wiesel’s book is more of a straight retelling of his experiences in concentration camps, there’s plenty to chew on from the depths of depravity in human nature to how strong can one’s faith be in such horrible circumstances. A short book that really everyone should read at least once in their life.

4. Greenglass House by Kate Milford

Greenglass House (Greenglass House, #1)

I picked this book up to read for Christmas and was pleasantly surprised to find it was a mystery book. Thankfully, it’s not about murder or the depths of human depravity (to a point) but it does contain charming characters and clever writing techniques. It immediately planted itself high on the list.

3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief

Another Holocaust-adjacent book, this fictional work about a young German girl learning the meaning of love and friendship all while finding her own way to “stick it to the man” was simultaneously moving and entertaining. Zusak nicely weaves a balanced tale that never gets too dark or too flippant. It was a book that provided a full and satisfying read.

2. North! Or Be Eaten by Andrew Peterson

North! or Be Eaten (The Wingfeather Saga, #2)

Last year, I read the first book in the Wingfeather Saga and found it…disappointing. I gave this one a chance partially out of courtesy and partially because everyone said it was better than the first. And…it was! This book improved on its predecessor’s failings and fully built on the potential Peterson showed with his first novel. I can honestly say I loved this book and would highly recommend it. However, it couldn’t quite top…

1. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

Lonesome Dove

I love Westerns. It’s a guilty pleasure. McMurtry’s epic is by far the best Western I’ve ever read. The plot is intricate and sprawling, the characters are engaging, and the themes are a gold mine worth pondering over even after the book is done. This book takes every sort of Western trope/idea and gives them a fresh coat of paint. While Peterson’s book is more fun and wide-eyed adventurous, McMurtry’s epic feels more like a complete book, mixing the adventure with meaning in a masterful way. And so, Lonesome Dove takes the number 1 spot for 2021!

Honorable Mentions

Before leaving you to your holiday festivities, I would like to acknowledge some of the other books I took in this year that just missed the top 10: 

The Bayern Agenda by Dan Moren; Shot All to Hell by Mark Lee Gardner; and Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe

Let me know if you have any favorite reads from the year!

One response to “Best Books Read in 2021”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.