Song: I Wish It Would Rain

It’s the last weekend of summer and the heat is still hanging around (at least in my area). To send off summer properly, I’m sharing a song that was definitely inspired by the season. So as the year turns toward its final months, if you feel discouraged in any way, may this song give you encouragement and hope.

I Wish It Would Rain
Words and Music: John Underdown

V1- In the dawn of a summer’s day,
The muggy air like a blanket lay
Upon all creatures great and small,
But upon my skin most of all.
The sweat seeps down into my heart,
Which beats slower in an anguished part.
Blood-flow is troubled in every vein;
Oh my God, I wish it would rain.

Chorus- Just a fist in the heavens
To bring a little rain,
To relieve the sun’s heat,
To relieve my pain.
‘Cause, God, I’ve been runnin’
For my own gain;
Now my garden’s a desert
And God, I wish it would rain.

V2- The grass is dry, brown, and frail,
Will this heat forever prevail?
My soul is pounding like a train,
Oh my God, I wish it would rain.

Chorus

Bridge- I’ll pray until the colors return;
I’ll hope until the music I relearn.
This haze of doubt sits like a stain…
Oh God, let it rain…

Chorus

*Copyright 2022. All rights reserved.

2 responses to “Song: I Wish It Would Rain”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.