The Color Green

I awoke this morning to cloudy skies, rain, and cool spring weather. In such a setting the grass looks lively and green. While I consider fall and winter my favorite seasons, spring is up there with them (summer is in the basement). The months of March, April, and May make for a wonderful time in nature. Thunderstorms bring noise to the skies, birds bring noise to the trees, people emerge from winter hibernation and enjoy the parks. And the grass looks so green!

About the time of junior high I began falling in love with creation. I enjoyed exploring woods, following creeks, being outdoors more. Springtime especially seemed vibrant as a dead world came back to life. My life as a Christian was also blooming. I looked for ways to praise my God and nature seemed like a ready conduit. I was attracted to any Psalm in Scripture that worshiped God for His creative work. As I became more familiar with the Bible I noticed that oftentimes when praise was directed toward the Lord, it was for His creative and redemptive work.

Creation is a big deal, after all. We wouldn’t be here if we weren’t created. Nature around us, I think, answers the question of how we were created (at least to a point). If evolution be true and the cosmos are a random assortment of chances, then I would expect that chaos in the movements of the seasons. Yet the cycle of winter, spring, summer, and fall carries on unbroken. How does it do this? Who keeps it in order? God does, and we should praise Him for that.

Springtime, I believe, gives us ample reasons why we should praise Him. Life is returning to the world; the color green stands out above all others in richness. One of my favorite Psalms in recent years is Psalm 65, which praises God for His redemptive and creative work. I think it’ll be fitting for me to end with some verses from that passage and a song from Rich Mullins. May you get caught up in the spirit of these songs and praise the God who creates and redeems!

9 You visit the earth and water it;
    you greatly enrich it;
the river of God is full of water;
    you provide their grain,
    for so you have prepared it.
10 You water its furrows abundantly,
    settling its ridges,
softening it with showers,
    and blessing its growth.
11 You crown the year with your bounty;
    your wagon tracks overflow with abundance.
12 The pastures of the wilderness overflow,
    the hills gird themselves with joy,
13 the meadows clothe themselves with flocks,
    the valleys deck themselves with grain,
    they shout and sing together for joy.

Leave a Reply

