Reflections on 2014

A little late on the reflections post this year. We can thank a busy December for that.

So what can I say about ‘014? The year previous to that (2013) flew by at a break-neck pace and I mentioned on last year’s post that I hoped 2014 would hit the brakes a little more often. Now, on the other side, I can say it did. In fact, 2014 was a relatively great year. Not perfect, not always peaches and cream, but all-in-all I liked it and I was sorry to see it end.

The year was characterized by a lot of “firsts”: 1st time flying, 1st time camping, many 1st holidays with my wife, our 1st anniversary, my 1st voice lessons, our 1st real vacation, and some others with those. So the year felt fresh.

Last year, I could relate to you a sort of “storyline” for how 2013 passed, but I don’t know if I could do the same for 2014. That doesn’t mean it was an uneventful time, there just wasn’t a driving “story” to the year. My wife and I grew closer to each other and to God and life moved at a nice pace. That’s kinda our year in a nutshell.

Okay, I know that makes for a lame blog post, but (to give this post some point) I walk away from 2014 extremely grateful to God for all of His mercies and grace toward us. I think I have a greater appreciation of that as 2015 begins than this time last year.

So what’s there to look forward to in 2015? Well, hopefully¬†Plethora will be released in paperback form (at long last); I hope to begin singing and sharing songs in public (as opposed to my living room); and, who knows, maybe a little Underdown baby will come along. So this new year will have to work to top 2014, or maybe it will just be a year of “seconds.” No matter what, Christ will be with us and in that blessed truth I can rest.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

