Twelve Months–Part 8

A few days late, but it’s now time for the next installment of the 12 Months Poetry Series. Recap: I’m writing a poem for each of the months of the year (as opposed to the other months) and trying to carry some theme through it so they all connect and make it worth reading. It’s a rather ambitious poetic undertaking on my part, but I’m enjoying the challenge and I hope you’re enjoying the fruit!

As usual I’ll provide a link to the previous entries. However, unlike the past few times where I kept them separate, I’ll just post the link to last month’s poem, which contains the links to the others. I hope that’s not too confusing.

https://jrunderdown.wordpress.com/2012/08/04/twelve-months-part-7/

{September}
September-I’ll remember:
A love once new has now grown old.
How quickly it flew from my hand!
But is it not as the sages foretold?
Could we have hoped for a firmer stand?

Beauty is fleeting, and so is the year;
Already brown and red appears on the trees.
I see the end approaching, coming so near.
My infatuation subsides and carelessness flees,
As the 12 months cracks into pieces…

Leave me some comments! I feel this month needs some work..

One thought on “Twelve Months–Part 8

Leave a Reply

