World in a Whirl

“What was it I was dreaming for?
To beat the beast and win the girl?
Here I am caught in my war,
Falling down with my world in a whirl.”

Sometimes I look up from what I’m doing, gaze around and wonder if what I’m fighting for is worth it. To question motives and directions in life often sends my “world in a whirl.” As I wrestle with who I am in Christ and so what is expected of me and then examine how i’m doing, i have to blush. I’m not perfect most of the time..in fact, i’m usually missing the mark.

“Should all the fancies be mine to hold,
To spin around and twist and twirl,
Would I have ev’n a pound of gold,
Crashing down with my world in a whirl?”

Maybe if I had all I needed…every advantage per se, then, then, I would be able to right my ship. Then I would be who I want/need to be. The world would no longer spin out of control. Yet the Bible says, “His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness” (2 Peter 1:3).

“Snap out of it! Why be in chains?
Why plod in what makes my heart curl?
Forget all these hopeless pains.
Have joy with my world in a whirl.”

So I conclude I rest in alibis. I’ve built a house of cards out of them. If only I had this or that, him or her, was here or there…Yet everything I need in order to be the man God called me to be is already in my hand. What more do I need than Christ? What else is there? What difference does it make if I can see clearly or dimly? Why can’t I walk by faith and not by sight?

Are you confused? it’s okay. I guess the point is that it is easy to lose focus…to doubt your standing…to cave under guilt and pressure. But ultimately, all we need is already given. We must press on, carry on, till the work is all done…

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”- Galatians 6:9

One thought on “World in a Whirl

  1. wow…i accidentally liked my own post…i thought a certain button would give me options about people who liked my posts and instead I ended up liking my own page…whoops..i mean,i like this post but it seems a little vain for me to say so..

Leave a Reply

