Winter Love

What you are about to read (or “see” depending on if you believe in reading or not) is what I consider a “classic” blog post from my first blog at http://schooltimemysteries.freewebspace.com. I wrote it last December when I noticed something and started theorizing. I did add some material to it to tweak my theory,but this is basically the original post. It’s somewhat serious, mostly satirical..but enjoy it anyway and tell me what you think:

Permit me to philosophically muse for a moment here and put forth a theory I’ve been developing lately. Recently I’ve felt that winter is the best time to fall in love with someone and begin a relationship. Why? Think about it. It’s colder. We want to get closer to each other and feel warmth,like holding someone’s hand as opposed to sticking yours into your pocket(as opposed to someone else’s). Next,the trees shed their leaves completely…they’re so barren..we feel that barreness in our hearts. It makes us feel alone and we long for human companionship. On top of this,note the romantic holidays and practices associated with this season…

Thanksgiving. A time for rest and families…okay not so romantic..unless you’re showing your family your new boy/girl friend! Then Christmas. Giving presents to people you care about. Romantic conotations are written all over that! And what about the mistletoe? “Kiss me if we happen to meet under this twig” was obviously established by a couple in love around the holidays. Now New Years. What happens when the ball drops and the clock strikes midnight?What are you supposed to do? Kiss someone close to you…as long as you know and love them..(I want to be clear here that I’ve never actually kissed anyone at midnight on new years except my mom and sister…but immediate family doesn’t count).

Then in February you have Valentine’s Day. Originally that holiday was all about bunnies. But Cupid’s really a jerk and he booted them to Easter. So now the day is dedicated to showing that special someone how special you think they are (I want to be clear here that I’ve never had a “special someone” on that day to show how special they are…I had a guinea pig once..but family pets don’t count). We could even dare stretch it to St. Patrick’s Day. Other than annoyingly pinching people who forget to wear green, what do we say? “Kiss me, I’m Irish!” Key word there is “kiss.” And need I mention walks in the woods, ice skating, looking at Christmas lights, snowball fights, building snowmen, climbing trees, and warming up by the fire with some hot chocolate and peppy background music? No, I don’t need to mention those…but I did anyway.

So I think my case for falling in love during winter is pretty solid from a certain point of view. Maybe it’s just me. I know what you’re thinking, “Are you hinting at something here?” Nope,I’m just putting forth a crazy hypothesis. To a point I’m joking,to a point I’m not. The practical outcome? Well,understand,that going through loneliness at this time of the year is probably natural thanks to the holidays and all the activities those entail. You’re not alone….so you know,start a club or something…but be sure you invite me.

One thought on “Winter Love

  1. Interesting theories. The winter months are some of my favorites anyway (Christmas in December and my birthday in February… woo hoo!) so I see the appeal. Besides, there’s just something about winter… sure, it’s cold and can be dreary. But people seem to soften up a little bit and everything seems more magical to me. Winter seems as good a time as any to experience love and happiness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

