When Heaven Weeps

The past couple weeks I’ve been studying through Jeremiah 48. It lies in a section of prophecies against foreign nations (foreign to Israel,that is). Last week I learned that Moab’s judgment was brought on by their complacency and ease. They were located in a “safe” region, had become wealthy, and so never felt the pains of the world outside (sound familiar?). As a result of this safety, they grew prideful and God had had enough. He was going to step in and upset their waters. This week I was surprised by what I read.

Up until v.29 of the text you think Moab’s heading to hell without any remorse from heaven. And then v.30 and 31 present a turn: “I know his fury,” declares the LORD, “But it is futile; his idle boasts have accomplished nothing. Therefore I will wail for Moab, even for all Moab will I cry out; I will moan for the men of Kir-heres.” (italics added). God’s weeping continues into v.32 and returns in v.35-37 (v.36 being the key).

What’s the point? Some Calvinists, I think, believe that God delights in sending people to hell since it’s a part of His good pleasure (correct me if this is wrong). But is this really the case? What if God actually cares for sinners, you know, the predestined for hell type. I’m not saying I’m turning Armenian, I’d still say I’m a Calvinist, and I believe that God has predestined our destinies before the “foundations of the world.” But I want to bring this up to challenge the notion that God delights in sending some of His creation into eternal torment. Is it really a delight? What if He loathes it? What if it makes heaven weep to see so many fall into everlasting damnation.

So what? Am I just ranting against this Calvinist notion? Partially. But I believe there’s an application here for Christians as well. I think it’s a healthy reminder that God “so loved the world that He sent His only begotten Son, that whoever believes on Him will not perish but have everlasting life.” I also think that it’s healthy to remember that our sin breaks God’s heart. As Petra once sang, “you better think twice.”

4 thoughts on “When Heaven Weeps

  1. You have failed to understand God ..and Calvinism.

    God indeed predestined all things and the destiny of each individual.

    But God does not worship His heart like arminians / free willers worship theirs.

    The point is that even though God loves some, He sends them to the lake of fire.

    Whatever pain of heart you have felt, God has outperformed you on all fronts. None weep or have joy or anything else that is of a heart more than God. He gave up His Own Son for us. If He wept for Moab, what do you think He did for Christ?

    Arminians are always portraying anything other than their own lies and emotional common sense as egregious emotional errors that wrongfully condemn God to emotional idiocy.

    The point is that He outperforms all and demonstrates His WORTHINESS to be God and King in front of an audience filled with those who have the mind of Christ and thus understand what is going on. He gives us Himself –which includes HIS mind and HIS heart. It is not as if God simply made up a heart-for-creatures, kept everybody in it and wrote the emotional software for it that always logically mandates He be glad and worshiped at all times.

    He commands us to tear our own hearts and worship Him –He tore His heart for us. You free willers always assume God does what He wants at all times and thus is always well represented by the smiling pastor with the perfect haircut.

    You always assume that because God doesn’t like something He would never do it. Only such a mindset could use something like:

    Ezekiel 18:32 For I have no pleasure in the death of him that dieth, saith the Lord Jehovah; therefore turn ye and live.

    ..as a supposed “prooftext” that God did not predestine the wicked to the lake of fire.

    What God did was build a lake of fire for those who will be filled with His wrath and yet those whom He loves. He will bear that pain eternally. Just because you are not up for something like that, doesn’t mean it can’t happen in Christ or that God is somehow limited like you wish Him to be. He loves the elect more and has no pleasure in the death of the wicked.

    But they will still burn in the lake of fire and God demonstrates power creatures do not possess except in Christ. He tell us that we are not worthy of Him unless we reject our unbelieving family. He lead the way ..as always.

    You guys are in such a hurry to make Calvinism look emotionally stupid you trip over yourselves to do blasphemy against God.

    Mat 10:34-39 Do not think that I have come to send peace upon the earth: I have not come to send peace, but a sword. For I have come to set a man at variance with his father, and the daughter with her mother, and the daughter-in-law with her mother-in-law; and they of his household shall be a man’s enemies. He who loves father or mother above me is not worthy of me; and he who loves son or daughter above me is not worthy of me. And he who does not take up his cross and follow after me is not worthy of me. He that finds his life shall lose it, and he who has lost his life for my sake shall find it.

    timothy

    In the Name of Jesus Christ, Amen

    1. ok,well thanks for the sermon.

      Apparently I wasn’t clear enough since I’d say we agree (but I’ll forgive you for calling me a “free-willer” and blasphemous). I agree that God has predestined some for heaven and some for hell, I’m just challenging the notion that He enjoys doing it. I don’t think He does. This Jeremiah passage is clear that God is condemning the Moabites to doom and judgment, yet He weeps for them? Why does He weep? That is the main question. That’s what I was boiling down to. Why in heaven does God weep for unrepentant sinners slipping into eternal damnation? Was this a part of His sovereign plan to condemn them? I believe so. Does He necessarily enjoy doing it? I would say no.

      So i don’t think this stance makes me a “free-willing blasphemous Arminian”..when all’s said and done,I think you and I agree on this. Don’t worry, I’m no Origen or Arius. I’m closer to Calvin and Augustine than you might think.

  2. you may be, but those particular spirits in your flesh were not..

    I ask your forgiveness. They can go to hell.

    1John 3:21,22 Beloved, if our heart condemn us not, we have boldness towards God, and whatsoever we ask we receive from him, because we keep his commandments, and practise the things which are pleasing in his sight.

    timothy

    In the Name of Jesus Christ, Amen

Leave a Reply

