Childhood and Time

This past week was fall break (yes,the entire week). On Monday I met up with friends to see Toy Story 1 and 2 in 3D. I almost cried during the opening credits of the first movie because it brought back so many childhood memories. Then on Thursday night I was “kidnapped” by some other friends and ended up reliving more of my childhood memories by playing NES games–especially Ninja Turtles the Arcade game! My friend and I gave our best shot but we failed in the end…about halfway through the game…but it’s allright,we’ll improve our Ninja Turtling skills and return to do something we had never accomplished during our childhood..actually beat the darn game. 

So the break was something of a “blast from the past,” to borrow an overused cliche. Coming off the break was different. I think I’ve gotten over the whole going home and feeling weird only to adjust and return to Boyce and feel weird again only to readjust. The transitions are smoother. But when I did return this time I suddenly realized all of the projects, assignments, and papers yet to be done. Suddenly I didn’t have time. Time has become such a problem this semester. It’s not that I’m not trying to stay ahead of the game, it’s just that I have more on my plate and so I’m running out of time before I get a firm grasp. It’s like I began the semester on the wrong foot and now I’m stumbling my way through the rest.

It’s a topic that’s been hit on before, but I want to take a moment to relate childhood and time. When I was young, I had so much time. So much time to play video games, watch TV, play with toys, let my imagination run wild. Now my schedule is cramped and overwhelmed. Oh to have that time again!

“In time, to wonder where the days have gone.In time, to be old enough to wish that you were young.”- Jars of Clay, “Boys”

“When I do count the clock that tells the time,
And see the brave day sunk in hideous night;
When I behold the violet past prime,
And sable curls all silvered o’er with white;
When lofty trees I see barren of leaves,
Which erst from heat did canopy the herd,
And summer’s green all girded up in sheaves
Borne on the bier with white and bristly beard;
Then of thy beauty do I question make,
That thou among the wastes of time must go,
Since sweets and beauties do themselves forsake
And die as fast as they see others grow,
  And nothing ‘gainst Time’s scythe can make defense
  Save breed to brave him when he takes thee hence.”-Shakespeare,”Sonnet 12″

“But wherefore do not you a mightier way
Make war upon this bloody tyrant, Time,
And fortify yourself in your decay
With means more blessèd than my barren rhyme?”-Shakespeare, “Sonnet 16”

Leave a Reply

